Photo

What do you like about MSTS?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
30 replies to this topic

#1 rgarber

rgarber

Dispatcher

• All Aboard!
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 604 posts

Posted 15 February 2004 - 07:02 AM

Every once in awhile I get a hankering to talk instead of just build. It occurs to me that if someone coming across my posts will see plenty of pictures of scenery, but no trains. But when I look at most other pictures of MSTS, I see mostly trains.

From my perspective I like both and I'm sure you do too. Why I don't include trains is typically because at the time of my picture taking, I don't have the right trains to put on the route to compliment the picture. And as a route builder, I download very few trains or have them running because I only infrequently run the sim.

Someone could conclude that the highlight of MSTS for me is the scenery then. That would be incorrect but I do place a very strong emphasis on scenery. Since I do consider myself a model railroader, my perspective on viewing a route is the same as a model railroader. I want to see the background look as strong as the foreground. In other terms, the scenery becomes the stage upon which the trains perform.

An example of this would be the time I saw the stage musical Annie out in San Diego. The performers were not of the original cast, but the props were. The props and performance were so convincing that when we left the theatre we were expecting to see snow on the ground in 70 degree weather.

When I view my routes, I want the detail while I'm driving the engine to be as interesting as the engine. So I spend alot of time bringing the scenery up to the same level as a decently done engine. The gotchas (as Andre Ming would say) could be too much detail and the frame rates buckle. That's true so alot of detail is left off the buildings that I would like to add because ultimately a route is about the engines and rollingstock running about the route.