Photo

How do I edit passing siding lengths?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 Scott

Scott

New Hire

• Valued Customer
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 12:02 PM

I'm new to editing track even though I've had MSTS for a long time and I want to edit the passing sidings to make them longer and I did it once and it messed up my route and to reinstall it. What's the correct way to do that?

#2 SAR704

SAR704

Dispatcher

• Valued Customer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 06:46 PM

First of all, when doing any editing of this nature, backup your route first! If anything goes wrong, you simply copy the old version back, and try not to redo the same mistake again.

If you laid the original track, the first thing to keep in mind is the sections of track you used. Otherwise check if there is any dynamic track, and note all the values in the dynamic track window. Remove any signals and car spawners within a mile or so. Adjust the length of the siding to how you want it, reinstate the track, and test to make sure there are no errors. Then reinstate any interactives you removed.

How did you mess up the route in the first place? Details come inhandy here smile.gif

#3 Scott

Scott

New Hire

• Valued Customer
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 07:01 PM

Thanks for the help and I never removed any track objects before and it never displayed any dynamic track when I did it once it was after adding dynamic track.

#4 GaryG

GaryG

Conductor

• Valued Customer
  • PipPipPip
  • 342 posts

Posted 10 July 2011 - 09:48 PM

Be forewarned - moving any track node will cause all existing paths that use that node to break - a switch is a track node.

GaryG

#5 SAR704

SAR704

Dispatcher

• Valued Customer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 08:10 AM

QUOTE(Scott @ Jul 11 2011, 11:12 AM) View Post