Photo
- - - - -

...On the Road Again...

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 oldrailfan

oldrailfan

Registered Ferroequinologist

• Valued Customer
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,461 posts

Posted 27 July 2008 - 08:08 AM

I've been telling everyone for several months that we were going to drive across country to my Mom's house to pick up some memorabilia that is too big to be mailed/UPS'ed.
We left Taylorsville about 9:00pm on the 17th, planning to dawdle our way across the U.S. and be in San Diego on the 28th. We got to Morganton (about an hour out) and stopped to eat, as we had not had supper with all the preparations. While eating, I realized I'd never loaaded the suit bag with all our "dressy" clothes, so back to T'ville we went... mad.gif
We decided we sleep the night at home and start over in the morning, but by about 12:30, we both realized we weren't going to sleep anyway, and everything was loaded, and so on, so we hit the road.
We got back to Morganton an on to I-40 about 1:30 am and went pedal-to-the-metal. First pit stop was at Newport TN for a quick bite and refuel. Just love that stretch between Asheville and there...Back on the road just in time to get to Knoxville for the mornng rush hour. sad.gif